Accreditations & Recognitions
Fire Technology Services

image: Small-scale liquid pool fire characterization

The SwRI Fire Technology Department is accredited by many agencies including the NSF International Strategic Registrations.

Accreditation. acceptance, and/or recognition of the Fire Technology Department at Southwest Research Institute (SwRI) as an independent testing laboratory and/or inspection agency has been received from:

  • NSF International Strategic Registrations, Ltd. in accordance with ISO 9001:2008
  • Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) as a Nationally Recognized Testing Laboratory under OSHA's NRTL Program (Docket No. NRTL-3-90)
  • International Accreditation Service (IAS) as a Testing Laboratory in accordance with ISO/IEC 17025 (Certificate No. TL-214)
  • International Accreditation Service (IAS) as an Inspection Agency in accordance with ISO/IEC 17020 (Certificate No. AA-665)
  • United States Coast Guard (USCG)
  • CAL FIRE Department of Forestry & Fire Protection, Office of the State Fire Marshal Fire Engineering Division, Building Materials Listing (BML) Program – Type A-1 Testing Laboratory and Third-Party Inspection Agency, also approved to perform tests for Wildland Urban Interface (WUI) areas and flammability tests under OSFM’s Flame Retardant Program
  • City of Los Angeles Department of Building and Safety, Materials Control Section – TA23337
  • City of New York, NYC MEA Registration No. 11-69-L
  • New York Department of State – Fire Prevention and Control
  • State of New York – Division of Housing and Community Renewal
  • Florida Department of Community Affairs, Building Codes and Standards - Product Testing Laboratory (FBC Organization Number TST2561) and Product Quality Assurance Entity (FBC Organization Number QUA2563)
  • Miami-Dade County, Building Code Compliance Office – Laboratory Certificate No. 07-0713.0
  • Ohio Department of Commerce – Board of Building Standards
  • Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
  • District of Columbia
  • Texas State Board of Insurance
  • Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC)
  • Approved supplier of fire testing and research services procured by Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL) in support of LANL’s weapons projects/programs. Approval criteria based on Department of Energy, Quality Criteria, DOE/AL (QC-1), Revision 10.
  • Defense Industrial Supply Center (DISC)
  • General Services Administration (GSA)
  • United States Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD)
  • American Bureau of Shipping (ABS)
  • National Voluntary Laboratory Accreditation Program (NVLAP) – based on IAS accreditation, through APLAC and ILAC Mutual Recognition Arrangements (MRAs)
  • American Association for Laboratory Accreditation (A2LA) – based on IAS accreditation, through APLAC and ILAC Mutual Recognition Arrangements (MRAs)

Internationally, the Fire Technology Department has been recognized by:

  • Det Norske Veritas (DNV)
  • Explosives and Dangerous Goods Division of the Occupational Safety and Health (OSH) of New Zealand
  • International Laboratory Accreditation Cooperation (ILAC)
  • International Association of Fire Chiefs (IAFC)
  • Lloyd's Register of Shipping
  • Asia Pacific Laboratory Accreditation Cooperation (APLAC) – based on IAS accreditation and IAS MRA with APLAC
  • International Laboratory Accreditation Cooperation (ILAC) – based on IAS accreditation and IAS MRA with ILAC
  • Recognized as an Accredited Certification Body by the United Arab Emirates Ministry of Interior Dubai Civil Defense

Related Terminology

code compliance  •  engineering design  •  fire and explosion investigations  •  fire resistance  •  fire testing laboratory  •  material flammability  •  product development  •  risk and hazards  •  suppression  •  third-party certification  •  listing and labeling

Benefiting government, industry and the public through innovative science and technology
Southwest Research Institute® (SwRI®), headquartered in San Antonio, Texas, is a multidisciplinary, independent, nonprofit, applied engineering and physical sciences research and development organization with 9 technical divisions.