Southwest Research Institute® (SwRI®) News

Printer Friendly Version

2005 Greater Austin-San Antonio Corridor Council NanoBioTech Summit scheduled
April 1

San Antonio -- March 22, 2005 -- The third annual Corridor NanoBioTech Summit will be held April 1, 2005, at the LBJ Student Center at Texas State University in San Marcos, Texas. U.S. Representative Lamar Smith from the 21st District will give the keynote luncheon address on federal initiatives in nanotechnology.

Congressman Smith serves on the House Science Committee and is Chairman of the Subcommittee on Courts, the Internet, and Intellectual Property of the House Judiciary Committee.

The summit will feature leaders from San Antonio to Temple in nanotechnology, biotechnology and information technology. Specialists in regional economic development and financing will also speak at the event. The one-day summit focuses on the regional growth of nanobiotechnology and showcases government/commercial cooperation, commercialization and local businesses.

The goal is to provide a catalyst for the economic development of the San Antonio-Austin corridor into a world-class technology center for research, development and commercialization of new technologies by merging nanoscience with bioscience, biomedicine and information technology.

Guest speakers include Eleni Kousvelari, D.D.S., D.Sc., acting director of the Center for Biotechnology and Innovation, National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research, National Institutes of Health; and Judge Jeff Moseley, executive officer of the Governor's Economic Development and Tourism Division and county judge for Denton County.

The Greater Austin-San Antonio Corridor Council is teaming with Southwest Research Institute® (SwRI®) and the law firm of Winstead, Sechrest & Minick PC to host the Summit. Additional sponsors include Temple Health and Bioscience Economic Development District, DeVry University, San Antonio Technology Accelerator Initiative (SATAI), Texas Research Park Foundation, Greater San Marcos Economic Development Council and the Nanomaterials Application Center at Texas State University - San Marcos. A complete listing of sponsors is available on the summit web site.

The registration fee is $150. Students are offered a discounted $75 rate. For more information or to register, visit the conference web site at, or contact Dr. Michael G. MacNaughton at (210) 522-5162 or

For more information, contact Tracey M.S. Whelan, Communications Department, (210) 522-2256, Southwest Research Institute, PO Drawer 28510, San Antonio, TX 78228-0510.

SwRI News separate.gif (834 bytes) SwRI Home