SwRI News Releases

For more information, contact Communications.

Search SwRI News Releases:  


SwRI® debuts Dedicated-EGR™ demonstration vehicle
Advanced combustion technology improves fuel economy, lowers emissions
[Tuesday, April 08, 2014]

French, American team finds regolith of small asteroids formed by thermal fatigue
Study shows thermal fatigue, not impacts, responsible for creating asteroid regolith
[Wednesday, April 02, 2014]

New research finds "geologic clock" that helps determine Moon’s age
Researchers find Moon formed nearly 100 million years after start of solar system
[Wednesday, April 02, 2014]

CYGNSS hurricane satellite mission passes major review milestone
Hurricane mission set to begin design and hardware definition
[Thursday, March 27, 2014]

SwRI awarded an HHS $8.3 million contract extension for continued development of cyanide antidote
SwRI to continue development of nasal-delivery, first-line treatment system to combat cyanide poisoning
[Tuesday, March 25, 2014]

Fresh water may flow just below the surface during Martian summers
Scientists hypothesize mysterious features on Martian slopes may be result of water
[Friday, February 28, 2014]

Southwest Research Institute part of winning team for White House initiative on Lightweight and Modern Metals Manufacturing innovation
American Lightweight Materials Manufacturing Innovation Institute will be established near Detroit (Feb. 26, 2014)
[Wednesday, February 26, 2014]

Romo elected chairman of SwRI Board of Directors, Lee named vice chairman
SwRI held its 66th annual meeting for advisory trustees and board of directors Monday
[Monday, February 24, 2014]

IBEX research shows the influence of the galactic magnetic field extends well beyond our solar system
Complementary research highlights interactions at the solar systems boundary and beyond
[Thursday, February 13, 2014]

SwRI receives Alliance for Work-Life Progress Seal of Distinction
SwRI joins impressive group of organizations receiving the honor
[Thursday, February 13, 2014]

SwRI wins National Science Foundation grant to study rock glaciers in Europe
International collaboration will use remote-sensing technology in study of rock glacier movements
[Wednesday, February 05, 2014]

SwRI adds flow component test cell
New test cell evaluates products at pressures up to 30,000 psi using gas hydraulic pressure.
[Tuesday, January 28, 2014]

SwRI develops first ERCOT-qualified vehicle-to-grid aggregation system
System allows electric delivery truck fleet owners to make money by using normal vehicle charge times to assist in managing grid frequency
[Tuesday, January 14, 2014]

SwRIs Walker named 2014 ODonnell Award recipient
Walker will be honored Jan. 16 during The Academy of Medicine, Engineering & Science of Texas (TAMEST) 11th Annual Conference
[Tuesday, January 07, 2014]

Newfound Planet is Earth-mass But Gassy
Planet KOI-314c weighs the same as Earth, but is 60 percent larger in diameter
[Monday, January 06, 2014]

SwRI News Release Archives

View all SwRI News Releases
For information about other newsworthy topics at SwRI, contact Deborah Deffenbaugh, Communications Department, Southwest Research Institute, P.O. Drawer 28510, San Antonio, Texas 78228-0510, Phone (210) 522-2046, Fax (210) 522-3547.

Benefiting government, industry and the public through innovative science and technology
Southwest Research Institute® (SwRI®), headquartered in San Antonio, Texas, is a multidisciplinary, independent, nonprofit, applied engineering and physical sciences research and development organization with 11 technical divisions.