SwRI Media Contacts

For more information about technical accomplishments, new facilities, new equipment, upcoming events at Southwest Research Institute (SwRI), patents, inventions, or other news about our technical programs, contact the appropriate person in the table below. Office hours are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Central.

Department Contact
Public Relations & Communications Maria Stothoff, Assistant Director
(210) 522-3305
E-mail: mstothoff@swri.org
Areas of Technology Contact
Applied Physics
Geosciences & Engineering
Intelligent Systems
Robert Crowe
(210) 522-4630
E-mail: rcrowe@swri.org
Defense & Intelligence Solutions
Mechanical Engineering
Deborah Deffenbaugh
(210) 522-2046
E-mail: dsdeffenbaugh@swri.org
Automotive Engineering
   • Engine, Emissions & Vehicle Research
   • Fuels & Lubricants Research
Rob Leibold
(210) 522-2258
E-mail: rleibold@swri.org
Space Science & Engineering Deb Schmid
(210) 522-2254
E-mail: dschmid@swri.org
Chemistry & Chemical Engineering
   • Fire Technology
Tracey M.S. Whelan
(210) 522-2256
E-mail: twhelan@swri.org

Communications Department

(210) 522-2257, action67@swri.org

Benefiting government, industry and the public through innovative science and technology
Southwest Research Institute® (SwRI®), headquartered in San Antonio, Texas, is a multidisciplinary, independent, nonprofit, applied engineering and physical sciences research and development organization with 10 technical divisions.
08/23/16