Advanced science.  Applied technology.


Korbell named chairman of SwRI Board of Directors

Jan. 15, 2010 — Southwest Research Institute® (SwRI®) announced the elections of John C. Korbell and Philip J. Pfeiffer to chairman and vice chairman, respectively, of its Board of Directors.

Korbell is managing director-Wealth Management and senior investment management consultant for MorganStanley/Smith Barney, San Antonio. Korbell became an SwRI trustee in 2000 and a Board member in 2004. He was elected vice chairman in 2007 and served in that role until he was elected chairman.

Pfeiffer is a senior partner (retired), former managing partner and currently of counsel at Fulbright & Jaworski L.L.P. He became an SwRI trustee in 2000 and a Board member in 2005.

"Southwest Research Institute is pleased that John and Phil have agreed to serve as the leaders of our Board," said President J. Dan Bates. "One of the contributing factors for the success of the Institute over its more than 60-year history is the strong leadership provided by our Board of Directors."

Despite an unstable economy, SwRI reported revenues of $564 million for fiscal year 2009, the largest in its history.

"Our technical programs remained strong in 2009, and I expect that to be the case in 2010," Bates added. "We will also continue to invest in new facilities and scientific equipment to further address our clients' needs."

Korbell announced the addition of five honorary trustees. They are: Mike Grubb, president and CEO, Southern Gas Association, Dallas; Dr. William L. Henrich, president, The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio; Dr. Sharon Mosher, dean of the Jackson School of Geosciences, The University of Texas at Austin; Dr. David M. Pierce, Registered Professional Engineer, D.M. Pierce and Associates, Houston; and Curtis T. Vaughan III, president and CEO, Vaughan & Sons Inc., San Antonio.

The re-election of Institute officers also was announced. SwRI officers are J. Dan Bates, president; Walter D. Downing, executive vice president; John F. Sprencel, CFO, senior vice president-Finance and Institute secretary; Beth Ann Rafferty, treasurer and assistant Institute secretary; Jack S. Fernandi, assistant treasurer; and John W. McLeod, vice president and general counsel.

Also re-elected are Vice Presidents Dr. James L. Burch, Space Science and Engineering; Bruce B. Bykowski, Engine, Emissions and Vehicle Research; Susan B. Crumrine, Automation and Data Systems; Danny M. Deffenbaugh, Mechanical Engineering; Dr. Katharine C. Golas, Training, Simulation and Performance Improvement; Lee J. Grant, Fuels and Lubricants Research; Pat Griffith, Facilities and Services; Dr. William G. Guion, Signal Exploitation and Geolocation; Dr. Amos E. Holt, Environmental, Safety and Quality Systems; James Robert (Bob) Keys, Applied Power; Dr. Michael G. MacNaughton, Chemistry and Chemical Engineering; Edward D. Moore, Applied Physics; Dr. Wesley C. Patrick, Geosciences and Engineering; and Richard D. Somers, Aerospace Electronics and Information Technology.

For more information contact Maria Stothoff at (210) 522-3305, Communications Department, Southwest Research Institute, 6220 Culebra Road, San Antonio, TX 78238-5166.