Advanced science.  Applied technology.


Pfeiffer re-elected chairman of SwRI Board of Directors

For immediate release

San Antonio — Feb. 25, 2013 — Southwest Research Institute (SwRI) announced today at its 65th annual meeting the re-elections of Philip J. Pfeiffer and Dr. Ricardo Romo to chairman and vice chairman, respectively, of its Board of Directors.

Pfeiffer is a senior partner (retired), former managing partner and currently of counsel at Fulbright & Jaworski L.L.P. He became an SwRI trustee in 2000, a Board member in 2005, vice chairman in 2009 and chairman in 2011.

Romo is president of The University of Texas at San Antonio. He became an SwRI Board member in 2006 and was named vice chairman in 2011.

"Southwest Research Institute is honored that Phil and Ricardo will continue to serve as our Board's leaders," said President J. Dan Bates. "Our success depends on the strong leadership and sound guidance of our Board."

Bates announced the addition of nine trustees. They are: Kim Bowers, executive vice president and president Retail, Valero Energy Corp., San Antonio; Dr. Stuart Dorsey, president, Texas Lutheran University, Seguin, Texas; Paula Gold-Williams, executive vice president and CFO, CPS Energy, San Antonio; Dr. Dale E. Klein, associate vice chancellor for Research in the Office of Academic Affairs, The University of Texas at Austin, and retired chairman of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission; Thomas Mengler, president, St. Mary's University, San Antonio; Jan Newton, chair, Texas Regional Entity Board of Directors, and retired president, SBC Texas, Boerne, Texas; Dr. Edwin "Ned" L. Thomas, dean of Engineering, Rice University, Houston; Dr. Ian M. Thompson, director, Cancer Therapy and Research Center, San Antonio; and Dr. Scott W. Tinker, director, Bureau of Economic Geology, The University of Texas at Austin.

The re-election of Institute officers also was announced. SwRI officers are J. Dan Bates, president; Walter D. Downing, executive vice president; Beth Ann Rafferty, CFO, vice president–Finance and Institute secretary; and John W. McLeod, vice president and general counsel. Linda M. Boehme was elected treasurer and assistant Institute secretary.

Also re-elected are Vice Presidents Dr. James L. Burch, Space Science and Engineering; Bruce B. Bykowski, Engine, Emissions and Vehicle Research; Susan B. Crumrine, Automation and Data Systems; Danny M. Deffenbaugh, Mechanical Engineering; Pat Griffith, Facilities and Services; Bob Keys, Applied Power; Dr. Michael G. MacNaughton, Chemistry and Chemical Engineering; Steven D. Marty, Fuels and Lubricants Research; Edward D. Moore, Applied Physics; Dr. Wesley C. Patrick, Geosciences and Engineering; Nils Smith, Signal Exploitation and Geolocation; and Richard D. Somers, Aerospace Electronics, Systems Engineering and Training.

For more information, contact SwRI Solutions.