Advanced science.  Applied technology.


SwRI 76th Annual Meeting features technical briefings

February 19, 2024 — Southwest Research Institute’s advisory trustees, board of directors and special guests gathered at SwRI’s main campus in San Antonio for the Institute’s 76th Annual Meeting. The event featured presentations on six of thousands of technical projects conducted annually and also included a presentation on capital improvements underway.

SwRI staff gave presentations highlighting efforts to reduce greenhouse gas emissions, expanding SwRI facilities, and using robotics and conducing inspections in hazardous environments. Space scientists from SwRI’s Boulder office discussed NASA’s Lucy mission and projects to study the upcoming total eclipse, visible in San Antonio on April 8. A staff member from the Institute’s wholly owned subsidiary Signature Science discussed DNA forensics.

“SwRI had a remarkable year in 2023 with a strong financial performance and we are excited about the breadth, depth and quality of our research programs,” said SwRI President and CEO Adam L. Hamilton, P.E. “We are also looking forward to the completion of several new building and facilities initiatives that are currently underway.”

Jan Newton, retired president of AT&T Texas, was formally introduced to the Annual Meeting attendees as the 2024-2025 Chair of the SwRI Board. Kim Lubel, former CEO of CST Brands, Inc., was introduced as the Vice Chair of the SwRI Board. “For the past decade, it has been my privilege to be affiliated with this esteemed organization, and I am honored to serve as the chair of the Board of Directors of Southwest Research Institute,” Newton said. “During my tenure, I have witnessed SwRI weather many difficult challenges and not only survive but thrive. The Institute is a special place, and our Board is dedicated to fostering the mission of this great organization.”

Hamilton introduced two new board directors, who will each serve a two-year term and 13 new advisory trustees, who will each serve a three-year term. Elected to the Board are Esperanza “Hope” Andrade, a partner of GO RIO Cruises, and Robert G. “Bob” Newman, a retired partner of Fulbright & Jaworski LLP. Newly elected advisory trustees include Dr. Amy Bosley, president of Northwest Vista College; Dr. Debbie Mauldin Cottrell, president of Texas Lutheran University; John Dickson, CEO of Lasithi Security LLP; Dr. Joe Elabd, vice chancellor for research for the Texas A&M University System; Lisa Friel, director of Westlake Chemical Partners; Leo Gomez, president and CEO of Brooks Development Authority; James B. Milliken, chancellor of The University of Texas System; Angie Mock, publisher and CEO of the San Antonio Report; Rolando Pablos, managing partner of the Cross-National Advisory Partners; The Honorable Peter Sakai, Bexar County judge; Dr. Gurvinder Pal “G.P.” Singh, founder of Karta Technologies; Kevin P. Voelkel, president of Toyota Motor Manufacturing, Texas, Inc.; and Vice Admiral Timothy J. White, U.S. Navy (ret.). Dr. Mary Ann Rankin and Dr. Ricardo Romo retired from the SwRI board of directors in 2023 and will now serve as advisory trustees.

The SwRI board of directors re-elected Institute executive officers and 10 technical division leaders. The board also elected Jose E. Navarro as vice president of Applied Physics.

SwRI reported a research volume of nearly $844 million, the highest in the Institute’s history. The Institute invested more than $9.3 million in internal research to bolster innovation and expand technical capabilities.

View 10 SwRI highlights of 2023 video:

For more information, visit or contact Tracey M.S. Whelan, +1 210 522 2256, +1 210 522 2256, Communications Department, Southwest Research Institute, 6220 Culebra Road, San Antonio, TX 78238-5166.