Advanced science.  Applied technology.


SwRI annual meeting features technical presentations

Feb. 18, 2019 — Nearly 200 attendees gathered at Southwest Research Institute (SwRI) today for the 71st Annual Meeting of the Advisory Trustees and Board of Directors. The annual meeting gives SwRI scientists and engineers the opportunity to present updates on the latest research and development initiatives at the Institute.

David S. Zachry, P.E., CEO of the Zachry Corporation, was re-elected as SwRI’s chair of the board for a second term. He served as vice chair from 2016-17. Wayne S. Alexander, retired president of SBC Southwestern Bell, was re-elected vice chair. He previously served as board chair from 2008-09 and vice chair from 2006-07.

“I am honored to return for a second term as chairman of the board of Southwest Research Institute,” said Zachry, who presided at the meeting. “SwRI is an extraordinary organization, and it is my privilege to serve on the Board of Directors. Today, our advisory trustees and board of directors get to glimpse just some of the remarkable work and technical solutions SwRI offers clients.”

Staff members presented technical programs on a diverse range of subjects including several that touch on critical issues facing the transportation industry. Other highlights included overviews of SwRI projects in robotics, homeland security and space exploration.

Events included a panel discussion on additive manufacturing.

“We have an incredibly bright and gifted staff who solve our clients’ most difficult technical challenges,” said Adam L. Hamilton, P.E., who was re-elected president and CEO. “We continue to do amazing work to help our world be a safer and cleaner place.”

SwRI announces the addition of three new board members: Phillip Green, chairman and CEO of Cullen/Frost Bankers Inc.; Kim Lubel, former chairman and CEO of CST Brands; and Jan Newton, retired president of AT&T Texas.

Hamilton introduced 14 new advisory trustees who will serve three-year terms beginning in 2019: Dr. Danny Anderson, president of Trinity University; Wayne I. Fagan, chair and president of The Dee Howard Foundation; Dr. Robert “Bob” Fossum, president of San Juan Southwest; Patrick “Pat” Frost, president of Frost Bank; Michael E. Iden, P.E., retired general director of Union Pacific Railroad; Dr. Daniel T. Jaffe, vice president of research at The University of Texas at Austin; Ron Nirenberg, mayor of San Antonio; Stuart Parker, CEO of USAA; Dr. Zoya Popović, distinguished professor, Electrical, Computer & Energy Engineering at the University of Colorado Boulder; Christopher Rice, retired executive vice president of AT&T; retired General Ed Rice Jr., USAF; Lesa B. Roe, CEO and chancellor of the University of North Texas System; Charles U. Slick, son of founder Tom Slick Jr.; Dr. Sharon L. Wood, dean of the Cockrell School of Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin.

The SwRI Board of Directors re-elects Institute officers and vice presidents annually. SwRI officers include: Hamilton; Walter D. Downing, P.E., executive vice president and COO; Beth Ann Rafferty, CPA, chief financial officer, vice president – Finance and Institute secretary; Linda M. Boehme, CPA, treasurer and assistant Institute secretary; and Mónica R. Trollinger, general counsel.

Tony Magaro was newly elected as vice president of Human Resources. SwRI reappointed 10 vice presidents: Kenneth H. Bennett Jr., Applied Physics; Dr. James L. Burch, Space Science and Engineering; Danny M. Deffenbaugh, Mechanical Engineering; Dr. Steven W. Dellenback, PMP, Intelligent Systems; Paul Easley, Facilities and General Services; Dr. Michael G. MacNaughton, P.E., Chemistry and Chemical Engineering; Steven D. Marty, P.E., Fuels and Lubricants Research; Mary Massey, P.E., Applied Power; C. Nils Smith, P.E., Defense and Intelligence Solutions; and Daniel W. Stewart, P.E., Powertrain Engineering.

For more information, visit or contact Tracey M.S. Whelan, (210) 522-2256, Communications Department, Southwest Research Institute, 6220 Culebra Road, San Antonio, TX 78238-5166.