Advanced science.  Applied technology.


Pfeiffer elected chairman of SwRI Board of Directors Romo named vice chairman

For immediate release

San Antonio — Feb. 27, 2012 — Southwest Research Institute (SwRI) announced today at its 64th annual meeting the elections of Philip J. Pfeiffer and Dr. Ricardo Romo to chairman and vice chairman, respectively, of its Board of Directors.

Pfeiffer is a senior partner (retired), former managing partner and currently of counsel at Fulbright & Jaworski L.L.P. He became an SwRI trustee in 2000, a Board member in 2005 and vice chairman in 2009.

Romo is president of The University of Texas at San Antonio. He became an SwRI Board member in 2006.

"Southwest Research Institute is pleased that Phil and Ricardo will serve as the leaders of its Board," said President J. Dan Bates. "Our success depends on the strong leadership and guidance our Board provides."

Bates announced the addition of three trustees. They are: Toby Calvert, investment counselor, Luther King Capital Management, San Antonio; Carolyn Labatt, chief executive officer, Computer Solutions, San Antonio; and Dr. Adena Williams Loston, president, St. Philip's College, San Antonio.

The re-election of Institute officers also was announced. SwRI officers are J. Dan Bates, president; Walter D. Downing, executive vice president; Beth Ann Rafferty, CFO, vice president–Finance and Institute secretary; Jack S. Fernandi, treasurer and assistant Institute secretary; and John W. McLeod, vice president and general counsel.

Also re-elected are Vice Presidents Dr. James L. Burch, Space Science and Engineering; Bruce B. Bykowski, Engine, Emissions and Vehicle Research; Susan B. Crumrine, Automation and Data Systems; Danny M. Deffenbaugh, Mechanical Engineering; Dr. Katharine C. Golas, Special Programs; Pat Griffith, Facilities and Services; Dr. William G. Guion, Signal Exploitation and Geolocation; Dr. Amos E. Holt, Environmental, Safety and Quality Systems; Bob Keys, Applied Power; Dr. Michael G. MacNaughton, Chemistry and Chemical Engineering; Edward D. Moore, Applied Physics; Dr. Wesley C. Patrick, Geosciences and Engineering; and Richard D. Somers, Aerospace Electronics, Systems Engineering and Training. The Board also approved the election of Steven D. Marty to vice president, Fuels and Lubricants Research.

For more information, contact SwRI Solutions.